Primetime Engineering Emmy® to Be Awarded to HEVC on October 25

Primetime Engineering Emmy® to Be Awarded to HEVC on October 25

Primetime Engineering Emmy® to Be Awarded to HEVC on October 25

October 6, 2017 / HEVC, standards / Posted By: rachel.rorke

On Wednesday, September 27, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced that the 2017 Primetime Emmy® Engineering Award winner will be HEVC, or High Efficiency Video Coding, which is a technology standard that helps deliver ultra-high definition video to everything from smart phones to stadium displays.

The Emmy for HEVC will be awarded to the Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding, or better known as the JCT-VC.  The JCT-VC is a group of engineers from the Video Coding Experts Group (VCEG) of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and the Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).  This committee is comprised of representatives about 200 industry and academic institutions around the world, including InterDigital.

To meet consumer demands of highest quality video, the HEVC standard delivers more video at a higher resolution on the available bandwidth.  The HEVC standard improves upon the previous standard using many new coding technologies, one of which increases the size of block regions, which allows for more flexibility in block partitions and better predictability in the algorithms applied to each block of each frame.  Together these technologies contribute greatly to the enhanced efficiency of HEVC for video compression.

This new compression coding has been adopted, or selected for adoption, by all UHD television distribution channels, including terrestrial, satellite, cable, fiber and wireless, as well as all UHD viewing devices, including traditional televisions, tablets and mobile phones.

Join us in congratulating our InterDigital engineers who participated in the development of HEVC in the JCT-VC, as well as our other industry colleagues for this great achievement!

To see the full winners profile, click here for more.